EFCN News Banner
Cooper Tire

March 28, 2013 News
F1600 Championship: Eidson Joins Cape Motorsports as Part of Two-Year Plan

Jake Eidson is seeking to give Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor back-to-back F1600 Formula F Championship Series titles in 2013 (Photo: Skip Barber Racing)
Jake Eidson is seeking to give Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor back-to-back F1600 Formula F Championship Series titles in 2013
(Photo: Skip Barber Racing)

Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing is pleased to announced that Jake Eidson has joined the team to compete in the 2013 edition of the F1600 Formula F Championship Series. Eidson, the 2012 Skip Barber Summer Series Champion, will move up to the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda in 2014 as part of a two-year program.

"I'm extremely excited to be racing this season in the F1600 Championship Series with the defending champions, Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing,” Eidson said. “I want to thank Dominic and Nicholas Cape for their confidence in me. I know how much the team is committed to winning, and my goal for the season is to do the same and contend for the championship in the No. 10 Spectrum Honda. The Spectrum chassis had seven wins and nine poles last season, and I’m excited to be driving such a powerful car.”

Eidson, 17, has only been racing for three years, but he has proven himself on the track. In addition to his Skip Barber Summer Series Championship, in 2012, he was awarded the Skip Barber Rookie of the Year award for the Winter Series, and in his rookie season in 2010, he finished fourth overall in the Skip Barber Winter Western Series. Thus far in 2013, Eidson has raced in both the Cooper Tires Winterfest and USF2000 Championship, earning multiple top-10 finishes.

“We’re very happy to have Jake on our team,” said team owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape. “He is talented driver, and we hope to help him develop his skills and hopefully win a championship this year in F1600 and next year in USF2000.”

Eidson will drive the No. 10 Spectrum Honda and his high hopes for the season. The team and its driver Matias Köykkä claimed the team and drivers championships in 2012. Cape Motorsports also swept the USF2000 Championships in 2012 with drivers Matthew Brabham (Championship class) and Henrik Furuseth (National class).

The 2013 F1600 Formula F Championship kicks-off on April 13-14, at VIRginia International Raceway. The schedule will bring the team and Eidson to Road Atlanta on May 9-11, Lime Rock Park on May 24-25, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on July 26-28, and Summit Point on August 23-25.
Pacific Mountain Central Eastern International

Go Top
Copyright © 2002 eformulacarnews.com. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search eformulacarnews:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Silly Season 2015 - Tentative Entry Lists
eFormulaCarNews.com 2015 - An Evolution
Atlantic: Engine Changes and Longer Races for 2015
Enerson Signs with SPM for 2015 Indy Lights Season
Campos Racing Joins GP3 Series Line-up in 2015

Post your article

DB time: 0.15236 (77.19%), total time:0.197389, queries:22