EFCN News Banner
Cooper Tire

December 12, 2014
World Speed Rising Star Award Winners Announced

The World Speed Motorsports Rising Star Awards have been helping young racers move up the open wheel racing ladder for years. In the past the award was presented to talented up and coming racers, and included a free test with WSM.

This year four racers have been awarded a free test day with World Speed and one of those drivers will be selected to receive a scholarship in the 2015 Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear. The scholarship is being funded by VMB Driver Development.

"For over 20 years we've been developing young drivers, and graduating them into the upper levels of racing," stated WSM President Telo Stewart. "We had a very successful 2014 season with the inaugural VMB Scholarship winner (Jaden Conwright) and we are really looking forward to working with VMB and the selected driver in 2015."

Details on this year's Rising Star Award Winners:

Driver: Toni Breidinger

Age: 15
Racing Accomplishments:
Karting - Consistent top 10 finishes at several regional karting events. Numerous podium finishes at local karting events. Currently ranking 3rd place in points in the Sonoma Redline Oil Karting Championship (Jr. Rotax class)

Midgets - Rookie year, consistent top 5 finishes and a recent 1st place feature race finish. Currently ranked 2nd place in overall series points, USAC HPD Western Pavement Series.

Driver: Enzo Prevost
Age: 16
Racing Accomplishments:
2012: 1st year of go karting in Jr. Rotax finished 4th at the Red Line Oil Karting Championship and awarded as Driver of the Year.
2013: Competed in the SKUSA Supernationals in Rotax Jr and finished 21st out 46 drivers. Finished 3rd in rat the Red Line Oil Karting Championship.
2014: Finished 2nd in Rotax Jr. at the Red Line Oil Karting Championship. Finished 2nd in the Challenge of The Americas National race.

Driver: Michael Avansino
Age: 16
Racing Accomplishments:
Started karting at age 8
2008 2nd place overall Jim Russell Race Series
2008 Jim Russell Race Series Rising Star Award
2009 Jim Russell Race Series Comer Championship
2009 Jim Russell Race Series HPV Championship
2009 Gold Rush Race Series HPV 3rd Place
2010 RLOKC MiniMax Championship
2010 RLOKC Jr. Driver of the Year
2010 ranked #5 in USRMC National points Mini Max
2013 RLOCK Jr. Max Championship
2013 ranked #1 by WestCoastKarters.com
2013 ranked #5 in USRMC National points Jr Rotax
Test drive Formula 1600 (Lynx Racing)
2x RLOKC Jr Driver of the Year
2014 places 3rd overall SKUSA Prokart TaG Jr class
Holds numerous track records for fastest lap.

Driver: Tommy McCarthy

Age: 15
Racing Accomplishments:
Current SCCA & NASA License holder SM class best finish 3rd place
Current USAC & BCRMA Midget driver best finish 7th place Placerville
7-time National Champ QMA
2013 QMA Winter National Champion Lt AA & B classes (Las Vegas NV)
2012 QMA Grand National Champion Dirt Lt. AA Class (Rio Linda, CA)
2011, 2012 & 2013 QMA Winter National Champion
World Formula Class Threepete (Las Vegas NV)
2011 QMA Grand National Champion Pavement Lt. AA Class.
2011 WSRA Mini Cup Champion
2010 USAC "Battle of the Brickyard" Champion, IMS
2009 Motor Sports Press Association "Rising Star Award" Recipient
2009 Jim Russell Karting Gazelle, Champion
2005 Baylands Rookie of the Year.
Won over 500 races - 27 track records

Some of the past Rising Star Award winners have included:
Scott Speed - F1, NASCAR, Rally Cross
Joey Hand - BMW Factory Driver, 24 Hours of Daytona & 12 Hour of Sebring winner
Sage Karam - 2013 Indy Lights Champion
Joel Miller - Team USA, 2013 Grand Am Rolex GX vice-champion
Cole Whitt - NASCAR
Michael Self - NASCAR
Conor Daly - Pro Mazda Champion, Team USA, Indy Lights, GP3
Neil Alberico - 2014 3rd Overall Pro Mazda, Team USA
Pacific Mountain Central Eastern International

Go Top
Copyright © 2002 eformulacarnews.com. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search eformulacarnews:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Silly Season 2015 - Tentative Entry Lists
eFormulaCarNews.com 2015 - An Evolution
Atlantic: Engine Changes and Longer Races for 2015
Enerson Signs with SPM for 2015 Indy Lights Season
Campos Racing Joins GP3 Series Line-up in 2015

Post your article

DB time: 0.171362 (85.36%), total time:0.200741, queries:23